News Media Help Line:



Media Contact: Michael Padilla,, 505-284-5325

High school physics teachers invited to Jan. 8 workshop

Nobel Physics Laureate Douglas Osheroff to discuss Columbia shuttle investigation

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — A workshop for high school physics teachers will be held Saturday, Jan. 8, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., at the Albuquerque Convention Center in the Ruidoso Room, East Complex Upper level.

The American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT) workshop is sponsored by Sandia National Laboratories, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Seaborg Institute of Science, and the AAPT.

The concept-based instruction workshop features Nobel Physics Laureate Douglas Osheroff, Stanford University. He will discuss the Columbia Shuttle accident investigation. He will speak from 8 to 9 a.m.

Members of the news media are welcome to attend any of the sessions.

Howard Matis, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, will present the ABCs of Nuclear Science at 9 a.m.

Rex and Deborah Rice, Clayton High School, Clayton, Mo., will present Modeling Instruction in Physics with demonstrations at 10:30 a.m.

Jan Mader and Mary Winn, Great Falls High School, are scheduled to discuss a Comprehensive Conceptual Curriculum for Physics at 1:30 p.m.

Bill Feldman, Los Alamos National Laboratory, will talk about his work on the search for water on the moon and Mars at 2:30 p.m.

Chris Leavitt, University of New Mexico Department of Physics and Astronomy, will discuss the origin of magnetism at 4 p.m.

Fred Begay, from Los Alamos National Laboratory, said he encourages all high school science teachers to participate in the workshop.

For more information go to

Sandia is a multiprogram laboratory operated by Sandia Corporation, a Lockheed Martin company, for the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration. Sandia has major R& D responsibilities in national security, energy and environmental technologies, and economic competitiveness.